VA Voice - June 5, 2017 Print


Back to top

Featured News

2017 MPI Virginia Award Nominees Announced!
Congratulations to all of the 2017 MPI Virginia Award Nominees. Members, watch your email for information on how to vote for your favorite nominee. 

Most Creative Host Facility of the Year Award
April 2017 - Great Wolf Lodge
August 2016 - Hilton Richmond Downtown
February 2017 - Dave & Busters
June 2016 - Richmond International Raceway

Educational Program of the Year
September 2016 - Connectivity: Elevating the Bandwidth Conversation - Michael Owen
April 2017 - Conference Refugees: Why the Hallway is more Appealing than the Ballroom with Josh Packard
August 2016 - Annual Education Conference: Meet Local - Various Speakers
January 2017 - State of the Industry with Jessie States, CMM
November 2016 - Audio Visual for Live Events 101 with Troy Peters

The Cecil H. Bailey, CMP, Mentor Award
Lauran Dangler
Lisa Meriwether
Barry Shapiro

The J.B. Bostic Torchlight Award
Ariel Cole, CMP
Lauran Dangler
Linné DiIorio, CMP

Young Professional Award
Brittany Alger
Brandon Johnson
Joslyn Phelps

Member of the Year Award
Brittany Alger
Ariel Cole, CMP
Megan Seagram
Veronica Thompson, CMP
Charles Wadell, CMP

Meetings Industry Leadership Award
Ann Buhl, CMP, CMM
Christi Ruddy, CMP
Jeannie Power, CMP, DES

Back to top

Upcoming Events

MPI World Education Congress - WEC 2017
June 19 - 22, 2017
MGM Grand - Las Vegas, NV

MPI Virginia CMP July 2017 Bootcamp
July 17 - 18, 2017
Virginia Tech Richmond Center - Richmond, VA

MPI Virginia Annual Education Conference & Awards Dinner
August 16 - 18, 2017
Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront - Virginia Beach, VA

MPI Virginia CMP November 2017 Bootcamp
November 20 - 21, 2017
Virginia Tech Richmond Center - Richmond, VA

CMP Conclave
November 13 - 15, 2017
MGM National Harbor - National Harbor

Back to top


MPI Virginia 2017-2018 Board Slate

Ariel Cole, CMP (at podium) Inducted the following members:



Connie Brewer
Coastal Hospitality Associates

President Elect

Linne DiIorio, CMP
Greater Richmond Convention Center

Immediate Past President

Jeff Schmid
UNOS Meeting Partners

Vice President Education

Lisa Meriwether
Lynchburg Regional CVB

Vice President Finance

Brittany Alger
Great Wolf Resorts, Inc.

Vice President Membership

Charles Waddell, CMP
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach

Vice President Communications

Brandon Johnson, CTA
Hilton Norfolk The Main
*Missing from Photo

Directors (Board members):

Director of Leadership Development

Lauran Dangler
Omni Richmond Hotel

Director of Fundraising

Laurie Campbell
Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel

Director of Member Care

Lori Leib
Hampton Convention & Visitors Bureau

Director of Monthly Meetings

Steve Tewksbury, CMP
The College of William & Mary

Director of Sponsorship

Laura Hurtt
DoubleTree by Hilton Richmond Midlothian

Director of Recruitment

Barry Shapiro,
James River Transportation
*Missing from Photo


Back to top